Davi
Quick facts

From Spain
Lives in Wrexham
Enjoys countryside walks

Where are you originally from?

Valencia, Spain.

Where do you live now?

I live in Pentre Broughton, Wrexham.

What attracted you to the area?

I read a lot of history of Wales and I like that Wrexham is close to Chester.

What do you and your family enjoy doing in your free time in North Wales?

My family and I have purchased a National Trust annual subscription and this allow us to visit different places in Wales and England. We also enjoy the countryside and take walks and we are involved with the Catholic Church in Wrexham.

What do you like best about working for the Health Board here in North Wales?

Very friendly staff and I have found my colleagues to be very supportive. My role as a Staff Nurse is varied within in the Ophthalmology Department.

What does a typical working day involve?

I work in the Ophthalmology Department, depending on the shifts, one day I can be Scrub Nurse in Theatre, the next day a Ward Nurse and the following day a Clinic Nurse. I also participate in on call rota to cover for eye emergencies in Theatre.

What development and support have you received?

Initially I had 2 weeks of induction and we have allocated a preceptor in the department who supported me for 6 months. I have attended an Ophthalmology Conference and I attended a mentorship training course and now I support new students in the department.

What are the top 3 things that make your job so special?

I think I am flexible and adventurous and I enjoy learning new things. I enjoy belonging to an established team.

Back